13 June 2017

RWBY Volume 4 Soundtrack Reaction: Let’s Just Live

RWBY Poster by kimmy77 on DeviantArt

These are my thoughts on “Let’s Just Live” from the RWBY Volume 4 Soundtrack. For more details on each of the song posts check out my introduction here. If you’re looking for a different song, hyperlinks at the bottom of the page will get you there quickly. Enjoy!

The RWBY Volume 4 Soundtrack Reaction Awakens

Many of the new songs for RWBY Volume 4 made a big impression upon me, but this one hit me right in the heart. I’ve loved “Let’s Just Live” from the first time I heard that opening drum and guitar drive, and this full-length version only reinforced my affinity for it.

It took me almost 20 minutes to get through the five-minute song, because I kept pausing so I could reflect or cry. Lately, I’ve struggled with the value of my life, if it has any meaning other than repeated failure. I’ve wondered why I keep trying, why do I keep fighting when life continues to dole out utter trash? I know, that’s just life. To see what’s happening all around the world and feel like there’s nothing I can do to help, to see friends and family struggle and not have anything to give; it’s tempting to want to give up. Incredibly tempting.

Hearing the anthemic declaration “Let’s Just Live” is just what I needed. I am ridiculously moved by words and music, so this is powerful to me.

The second verse continues to tell the story of Beacon’s favorite students and the challenges they’ve faced as the realities of life smacked them in the face. There are some moments here where matching the lyrical flow of the first verse get a little, interesting; but it doesn’t halt the experience.

By the time it gets to the breakdown in the latter half of the song, that’s exactly what happened to me. I paused as the tears ran down my cheeks. I listened to the words, more than a couple of times in that slowed down section.

I love the theatrical build of this song. It comes back with a powerhouse guitar solo and finishes with an altered chorus for the outro. Man, it is so good!

Final Thoughts on Let's Just Live

Life has its ups and downs, but we make decisions to get back up when we fall, to face the scary parts, to move forward even when we’re faithless or feel that everything has fallen apart. I really do love this song! Oh and the Easter egg in here - all aboard the Feels Express. Jeff Williams has my heart in his hands.

It’s not without its hiccups. There are parts where the mix seems weird, maybe it’s just my audio setup, but overall it’s a strong showing.

The RWBY Volume 4 Original Soundtrack & Score will be available June 16, 2017, and is currently available for pre-order on Amazon and iTunes. Hard copies are sure to be available in the Rooster Teeth Store.

RWBY Volume 4 Soundtrack Songs List

  1. Let’s Just Live
  2. Like Morning Follows Night
  3. Bad Luck Charm
  4. This Life is Mine
  5. Home
  6. Armed and Ready
  7. Lusus Naturae
  8. Bumblb
Lyrics on RWBY Wikia or Lyric Videos on FlyntofRWBYNation's YouTube.
Post a Comment